Angel of God, My Guardian Dear

October is filled with many notable Feast Days. Today, October 2nd, is just such one. It is the Feast of the Guardian Angels.

Many of us learned this prayer when we were just babes, and our children probably recite it at bedtime. It’s a great little prayer to help ease your child’s anxiety over fear of the dark or storms, or bad dreams.guardian-angel-prayer

It’s also an important reminder of God’s love and how He sends his protectors to watch over us, to guide and nurture us. How many times have we come close to tragedy, only to inexplicably escape from harm? How often have we felt a word of caution advising us to “do this” or “don’t do that”? That’s our guardian angels watching over us. Pope Francis reminds us,

“How is my relationship with my guardian angel? Do I listen to him? Do I say good morning to him? Do I ask him to watch over me when I sleep? No one journeys alone and no one should think that they are alone.”

If it’s been a while since you’ve spoken with your Guardian Angel, today is the perfect day to say hello and thank you.

For ideas on how to celebrate this day, see Lacy’s post at Catholic Icing: 10 Ways to Celebrate
